Happy Birthday Husband!

Another December, another birthday!

It’s Matt’s birthday today! I know that it’s the birthday person’s special day, but I can’t help but feel like it’s my day too. Not because I am going to be showered in gifts or breakfast in bed or anything like that, but because December 3rd was really the day that MY life changed all those years ago (not that many years ago, but who’s counting?!)

Obviously it’s been a big year for us…Mattt graduated, we got engaged, married, went to Hawaii, moved in together, worked in the real world together, and bought our first Christmas tree.

There are too many wonderful things about Matt to write about. Those of you who know him know that he’s passionate, driven, creative and athletic. He also has this weird scratchy throat thing that he does. He can make people laugh easily…especially with inappropriate comments.  Don’t even get me started about the nuns.

I was thinking recently about writing a blog post about the assumptions that people make once a couple gets married. People seem to forget that there is no universal understanding of what it means or how life changes when you’re married or a wife or a husband. I don’t find that too much has changed in our relationship, other than I have a deeper sense of “us-ness”.  I knew almost immediately once I started dating Matt that he would one day become my husband. At our wedding, I said that marrying him was the easiest decision that I ever made. And it was. And a whomping 3 months later, it is still also the best decision I ever made.

I was wondering exactly what it is that makes my relationship with Matt different than with anyone else. And I realized that Matt is so special because with him, I don’t feel like I need to be anyone other than me. Book reading, slightly anal, Marg Simpson-sounding me. But in saying that, Matt has the ability to push me to be the best version of me. Whether it’s doggedly believing in my dreams, nudging me to go further, or gently (and sometimes no soooo gently) reminding me that I can be more loving, compassionate, kind, patient, laid-back. He  pulls me into our future.

I could not be luckier.

I could not be more thankful.

December 3rd is the best day of the year, if you ask me.

Happy Birthday Matt. I love you. And I am looking forward to spending a thousand more December 3rds together.

Leave a Reply

