Experiments with Truth 2009

Last year I really narrowed down my “experiments” for the year- perhaps as a way to make them seem more attainable or manageable . Let’s take a moment to examine the results. Here is the first post I wrote about truth experimenting in January 2008. It’s so fun to look back and see what I was thinking two years ago.

#1. Watch what I consume.  I don’t mean watch my weight or anything like that, I mean literally to be mindful of the stuff I am filling myself with- be it gossip, trashy tv, facebook, fast food, no protein, negative thoughts, etc.

Hmmm–hard to say. I think I did ok at this one. I do try to make sure that I spend my time doing something fruitful and not waste my time. However, I do spend a LOT of time on my comp reading blogs, facebooking, etc. I think this year I might try to cut back a bit Also, I don’t watch a lot of tv, but I definitely have my shows…um, remember the Biggest Loser? I’m happy to say that Matt and I are eating pretty well now that we plan our meals.

#2. Choose love. I so often forget to love people in my day to day encounters. I forget that each person was designed by God and has inalienable value. I hate that I forget this. More so, I hate when I choose to ignore such a simple truth. I want to be more loving.

This is a life-long experiment. I think I need a few more years forever to perfect it. I’ll definitely keep working on this.

#3 . Become less self absorbed. Spend less time making myself feel cool, worthy, valuable, smart, good looking, talented, etc. It’s exhausting, totally overrated, and soooo 2008. I want to live for something a heck of a lot bigger than myself- and the ironic thing is that I feel a heck of a lot more positive about who I am when I stop trying so hard. This year I am going to get over myself.

See above. I think this one is a life-long doozy as well. I think I made some progress here this year- not spending time with people who don’t challenge me or call out the best in me, work on serving others, being more like Jesus, all of that easy stuff..

That  those were my goals for 2009. Lofty, to say the least.

Stay tuned for my “10 in 2010” coming up next and my best of 2009!

And because every post is better with a photo…

My wonderful parents-in-law gave Matt and I a NEW BED for our wedding (hi Mom P!) This is a GODSEND because we’ve been sleeping in my wee double for 4 months (we’ve been married for FOUR months!) Here is Matt in his “happy place” idea of hell on earth….IKEA.

2 thoughts on “Experiments with Truth 2009

Leave a Reply

