Today…

Today I got a small gift.

You know those people in your life that aren’t your favourite? The people who might be mean, power hungry, harsh? I have a person in my life who is sometimes difficult and with whom I often wish to avoid.

But today I was lucky enough to see a glimpse of this person’s humanity, of their vulnerability. And you know what? It was beyond refreshing. I felt my heart soften like butter on warm toast. It truly was a holy moment and I was reminded afterwards that we really are all the same. I’m not naive enough to think that now our relationship is going to be any different–but on days that I feel frustrated and critical, I am going to try to remind myself of today-of this small moment.

[photo via]

Leave a Reply

