hot, cold, rest

On Sunday I went up to Collingwood with Steph and Amanda to this gorgeous spa near blue mountain. Amanda came over at 7:20 am bright and early Saturday morning and after a quick stop for coffee, we were off to Guelph to meet Steph. The sun rose higher in the sky as we drove. It was beautiful.

We got to Steph’s place and switched cars and we were off. We went to this gorgeous hot baths spa. It sounds strange but you just self-pace through three cycles: hot, cold and rest. Think outdoor hot pools, steam rooms, saunas and then the cold was either the snow or COLD pools. Then you spend some time in an indoor deck area with loads of magazines and muskoka chairs (with foot rests!).

It was a WONDERFUL day. It’s a quiet environment so you’re not really supposed to talk. The silence was really refreshing. So was the drive up. Really, the whole experience was great. It felt truly restful. And the company was fantastic. I was thinking on the drive home how grateful I am to know amazing women. I think female friendships are invaluable. And I know really, really inspiring women. I have friends that are so real. Broken, lovinging, flawed, selfless. The older I get the more I value the depth of my girlfriends. No longer do I spend time with people people I want to impress or people that I think I should be friends with. I hangout with women that challenge me, make me laugh, stick by me and know me…really know me. I have friends that have made giant mistakes and have had my back when I didn’t know what I was doing.

And I have friends that invite me to the spa. Because I can tell you with 100% assurance that Matt would have enjoyed the spa for less than an hour. Then he’d be ready to do something else. We “spa-ed”  from 10-5 with a break for a delicious lunch. I can’t wait to go back!

2 thoughts on “hot, cold, rest

Leave a Reply

