A New Plan

Last weekend I went to my friend’s cottage and we got up there pretty late at night. We lugged our stuff down to the dock of their Oma’s cottage to load up the boat to head to their water-access only cottage. The whole point of this is to tell you that we go stuck in the middle of the lake because we ran out of gas. At midnight. Yikes. Of course, Ollie is an engineer and had no problem rigging up the second gas tank. But we were stuck there for a few minutes. In order to occupy myself, I started thinking about all of the people i love most and assigning them each with an attribute that they have that stands out most to me.  It went something like this ” I want to be (insert: loyal, committed, joyful, honest, passionate, patient or loving” like (insert: friend’s name).

It’s was an amusing little game and before I knew it we were zipping away in the boat to a weekend of good times.

So, i tell you ALL of that to say that I have created a new challenge for myself and this little blog. While it was nice just thinking about the quality of friends I have, I thought I could do a little better. What good is sentiment when you can have action?!

Each week I am going to feature one of my friends and tell you a little bit about why I want to be more like them…and then I am going to try to do an action to help me move in the right direction.

Are you ready?

Here we go.

I want to be as thoughtful as Amanda.

Amanda is pretty much the most thoughtful person I know. She ALWAYS always goes out of her way to make someone feel special. Here are a few tiny examples: one time I decided that I should stop eating sugar (terrible, terrible Idea btw..) and I was going on a 10 hour road trip to Chicago for work. Amanda put together this AMAZING care package for me full of sugar free (and chemical full:) goodness. My mom mentioned to Amanda that she’d love to have a starfish…so, of course, Amanda remembered and brought her one home from our vacation in North Carolina. Recently, a friend of ours went off to camp for 4 months and Amanda made her this awesome package full of the things that you need at camp, but always forget…hair ties, bug spray and other goodness.

When I think about all of Amanda’s awesome qualities–her thoughtfulness and desire to make people feel special really stands out. And I really want to be more like that. I thought of an action to help me practice thoughtfulness, but I don’t want to post it yet because I want it to be a surprise for receiver. I promise in a week or so, I’ll let you know what I did.

Stay tuned for my next post about the beautiful birthday gift Amanda and a few friends gave me.

4 thoughts on “A New Plan

  1. you are spot on with Amanda…she truly is one of the most thoughtful people I have ever met….she exudes it…..

Leave a Reply

