Week Three–To thine own self…

I’m home from an excellent weekend up north at TWO lovely friend’s places. It was a four day weekend that felt full, long almost. And as we pulled out of the driveway at 8pm last night to head home, I realized that we’d soaked up every last minute. Good food, friends, ice cream, campfires, tubing…what more can you want. The weather was also perfect.

And now with Monday almost behind us, I’m looking forward to the rest of the week (it’s my last five day work week!!) sidenote: it’s so bloody hot today. I was a sweaty mess on my 5 minute (downthill!) bike ride into work at 8:30 am…and at our ultimate game tonight, I pretty much wanted to lay on the ground and throw a temper tantrum. It felt like I was running in a sauna.

In my heat-dazed craze, I got to thinking about the next installment of my “experiment”–this week was an easy choice.

I want to be more like Kim–because she is the most ‘true to herself’ person I know. There are a 1001 amazing qualities about Kim. She’s loyal beyond words, talented, beautiful and funny….but what really sticks out about her is how comfortable she is in her own skin.

Like all of us, she has moments of self doubt but by large Kim is mostly just happy with who she is. She has no pretenses, no outward jealousy of others. She doesn’t strive to be cool–and this fact of course, is what makes her so cool. She loves cupcakes and music paraphernalia, photos of clouds and her New Zealand family. She loves with her whole heart…and she doesn’t hold anything back.

When I think of the people I most want to be like, Kim is one of them because she makes the people around her feel so valued. Because she is ok with who she is–she draws out the best in the people that she spend times with. No competition. No questioning her intentions. She is who she says she is. And it’s so refreshing.

I cannot (thankfully) remember the time before she was my friend…my people.

Kim–thank you for teaching me so much–and for loving who God made you to be and for encouraging me to do the same.

2 thoughts on “Week Three–To thine own self…

  1. oh pips. you made me cry with JOY because i also can’t remember a time when we weren’t friends/people (thank goodness!) you teach me so much everyday, my dear friend. you encourage me, challenge me, make me think, and share your amazing friendship with me. so, the truth is, i want to be more like you. 🙂 i am so darn grateful for you. xoxo

Leave a Reply

