Real, Sweet, Dopey, Funny Life.

Life is funny, you know.  A couple of days ago I wrote about having a hard time taking time to do the things I really love, the things that make me feel great. Instead, I lose so much time mindlessly browsing the web or just  being plain ole’ lazy.

As fate would have it, my very favourite author wrote an article about this exact topic.

You must go read the article, but here are a few of my favourite parts (in case you’re too busy to read the whole article).

 

If so, what manic or compulsive hours will they give up in trade for the equivalent time to write, or meander? Time is not free—that’s why it’s so precious and worth fighting for…will they give me one hour of housecleaning in exchange for the poetry reading? Or wash the car just one time a month, for the turtles? No? I understand. But at 80, will they be proud that they spent their lives keeping their houses cleaner than anyone else in the family did, except for mad Aunt Beth, who had the vapors? Or that they kept their car polished to a high sheen that made the neighbors quiver with jealousy? Or worked their fingers to the bone providing a high quality of life, but maybe accidentally forgot to be deeply and truly present for their kids, and now their grandchildren?

Now, seriously, go read the article–it’s great and I think she’s 100% bang on.

2 thoughts on “Real, Sweet, Dopey, Funny Life.

    1. oops, sorry. Mean to type that Anne Lamott is my favorite as well, and I often quote her in my blog. I just read Traveling Mercies and I’m onto Plan B – she is like no other.

      Thanks for sending this article!

Leave a Reply

