Few things are better.

Used books are one of my favourite things. I rarely, if ever, buy new books. Somehow we  still have an apartment full of books.

Today we made a stop at my favourite second hand store and I stocked up on books and vintage Christmas tree ornaments. I got 3 BAGS of ornaments and 10 books for $17! Not bad, if you ask me.

The haul:

Midwives  by Chris Bohjalian (I read this in high school but don’t remember it well)

The Book of Hard Things by Sue Halpern

The Ten Year Nap by Meg Wolitzer

Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali

The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Power by Rebecca Wells

The Wife’s Tale by Lori Lansens

Schindler’s List by Thomas Keneally

The Fearsome Particles by Trevor Cole

The Polished Hoe by Austin Clarke

The Novelist by Angela Hunt

Have you read any of these? Any terrible? Any amazing? I am not sure which I’ll start with. I have been reading a lot less since starting school again but there really is nothing like getting caught up in a good book (although sleep deprivation isn’t cool).

The preview below is a movie that was made based on a book by the same name (I bought it used and read it this summer!) The book was really bizarre, but good. I think the movie looks like it’s going to ask some tough questions.

5 thoughts on “Few things are better.

  1. pips! i LOVED “infidel” – could NOT put it down! i’d love to borrow some of these when you’re finished. 🙂

  2. Just finished the book Never Let Me Go (as you know because I borrowed it from you), and I was completely absorbed by it. I think it helped having watched the preview because it gave the book some sort of context but it does ask some really hard questions. I couldn’t help but draw similarities to our own existance, the veils we put up to mask the parts of our world we are uncomfortable with; the people we would rather pretend don’t exist because it’s inconvienent to think about them… I think the movie will be able to evoke more of an emotional response;, the book made me think but I’m sure the movie will make me cry.. sob.. maybe weep.

Leave a Reply

