What I want to share

I’ve had such a great weekend. Two parties, a dinner potluck, diner breakfast with good people,  a 4-way squash match, good chats on the futon bed, a church service that made me think, and the kind of important talks that make you turn the engine of the car off and keep talking. It was that kind of weekend. So full. I’m happy. And I have a lot of school work to do. Yikes.

Before I get to my school work I’m going to read a friend’s paper, finish cooking dinner and fold some laundry. I loathe folding laundry…but I love folded laundry. What a conundrum! Tonight my love of organization is going to beat out my laziness.

On to more important things: dinner!

I want to share one of our favourite dinner recipes ( it’s bubbling on the stove as I type!) Kim passed on this recipe to us and we’ve made it countless times since. It’s the perfect fall/winter meal that doesn’t destroy the budget and is super easy. It can easily be made into a vegetarian dish too, which we think is great. So, with out further ado and mad props to Kim…Greek Chili!

Greek Chili

2 tsp olive oil
3 boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into 1-inch cubes
1 cup chopped red onions
1 cup diced zucchini
1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
2 tsp minced garlic
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 tsp each ground cumin and dried oregano
1 can (19 oz) diced tomatoes with sun-dried tomatoes, undrained
1 1/2 cups your favorite tomate pasta sauce
1 cup canned chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 Tbsp brown sugar
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
2 Tbsp minced fresh cilantro
1/3 cup crumbled light feta cheese

Heat olive oil over medium high heat in a large
non stick pot. Add chicken. Cook and stir chicken until lightly bronwed, but not cooked through, about 4 minutes.
Add onions, zucchini, red pepper and garlic. Cook and stir until vegetables begin to soften, about 3 minutes.
Stir in chili powder, cumin, and oregano. Cook 1 more minute. Add tomatoes with their juice, pasta sauce, chickepas, brown sugar and pepper. Bring to boil. Reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer with 15 minutes.
Remove from heat. Stir in cilantro. Ladel chili into serving bowls and top with feta cheese.

Leave a Reply

