To run

img_7641.jpg

Hello folks!

I wanted to pop in and share some nerves news. Two years ago, I trained for a marathon. I was training by myself, during the first year of my Midwifery program.  My training was mediocre and most of my runs were like pulling teeth. I did the longest run before the race (20 miles/32km) and I just knew this race wasn’t going to happen. My left IT band was pinched, I was limping and I could barely run at all. So, I bowed out of the race. I lost my money and I didn’t run the race. It was a disappointing decision, but it was the right one.

The last year I ran the half marathon of the same race.

Then, when my friend and neighbour decided that he’d like to run the Niagara International Marathon in October. I decided this was my time. I was off-call all summer. I had ample time to do long runs. My friend (and other neighbour) decided she’d run the marathon too. Tomorrow is race day.

Here we are. 18 weeks after we began “training.” Our expectations have changed. We just want to finish the “race” together- with smiles on our faces. Preferably,upright.

All this to say that I’m a a bit nervous for tomorrow. I want to finish strong. I want to embrace discomfort and avoid suffering.

We went to a really sweaty, stretchy yoga class this morning. That was helpful, I think. The instructor said,

“You have everything you need inside of you.”

“Your body knows what it needs.”

“All you need to do is breathe in and out; everything else is extra.

I’d like to think this is true about running. And life in general.

Here’s to 26.2 miles tomorrow. Here’s to the privilege of having blood pumping through my legs and being able to move my body. It’s all a gift. It is.

For some inspiration, I checked out the other posts I’ve written about my running journey. You might enjoy some of the videos that I’ve found. You can see them here.

One thought on “To run

Leave a Reply

