Doing the things you love to do

Maybe it’s just me, but sometimes I have a really hard time doing the things that I love to do. I realized this sounds counter intuitive, but it’s true. There are a handful of activities that make me feel whole, filled up, good. For example, I always feel good after doing yoga or going for a run. I always feel great putting on some good music and just “being” by myself. I feel best when I spend a little time each day thanking God for all She’s done and asking for grace. But for some reason, these things that have such a great return for my investment happen so infrequently.

Sadly, I think it’s just laziness and complacency. It’s so much easier to putter around on the internet or just lose time doing…well, nothing. It’s sad and a bit discouraging.

My intention of this post is to act as a catalyst– to remind myself of the after–of how good I feel once i get my lazy ass into gear…I mean it would even be so nice to get up earlier on work days to get my day started on the right foot; to not be rushing around with like a chicken with it’s head cut off.  Now if I can just manage not to hit snooze…

One thing I know for sure is that I never want to miss an opportunity to spend time with friends and thankfully, my laziness leaves this part of my life unaffected, for the most part.

Steve hosted a bunch of us for a World Cup  (ribs!) BBQ at his place in Toronto and as you can see from the photo above, he is not only dapper, but also an excellent host. Despite the game, it was a really great afternoon with some delicious food and good friends. Can’t ask for much more than that on a sunny Sunday afternoon.

One thought on “Doing the things you love to do

  1. well said. so true.
    i can be the queen of complacency and status quo too often. instead of being intentional to be and do the things i thrive in and love to do. how silly.
    thanks for the reminder…
    but good thing i did end up wandering around on the internet as it did lead me to your blog again! 🙂

Leave a comment